Posted by: Lance Parrish | March 15, 2011

iPad 2 – Target, Why Did You Lie To Me?!

I’m going to pretend like there hasn’t been 5 months since my last blog post.  Thanks.

So, last Friday (March 11th) was a big day for me.  It was a day that I had looked forward to for about the last 5 months, maybe 6.  It was the day that Apple launched their new iPad 2. 

Being the good husband that I am, I asked my sweet, darling wife if I could buy one.  Much to my surprise her response was, “Sure!  If you want to save your money and spend it on an iPad that would be great!”  She seemed genuinely excited for me to buy one – with my money.  So, around October (about the time of my last post, ironically) I started putting away some money in order to buy an iPad. 

Now, fast-forward through Christmas, several trips to the Apple Store, researching the iPad and the iPad 2 into the ground, and annoying my wife everyday with, “Should I buy the old one, or wait for the new one” type questions and we finally arrive to Friday April 11th – iPad 2 launch day.  By this point I had saved up enough money that I could purchase any of the now 18 options of iPad that I wanted.

Apple had announced that the iPad 2 would be available for a nationwide launch at 5:00pm local time across America.  Apple also announced that the iPad 2 would be available for purchase at Best Buy, Wal-Mart, Target, AT&T, Verizon, and Sam’s Club – as well as any Apple retail store.  Since I had already stood in line for an Apple product (iPhone 4) on the day of its launch I decided that I did not want to do that again.  I decided I would go to Super Target in Mansfield, TX and use my new Red Card (Target Credit Card).  When you use your Red Card in Target you automatically save 5% on your purchase.  So, naturally I decided to buy my iPad 2 at Target, use the Red Card, and save some money.

I arrived to Target at 1:00pm on Friday March 11th to ask the manager if I could even use the Red Card for this purchase.  They assured me that I could, so I sat in my truck for a few hours reading (waiting) for the 5 o’clock hour to roll around.  At about 3:00, I went back inside Target and was the first person in line – I was poised to get exactly what I wanted.  Every employee in Target’s electronics section knew why I was there; they even asked me which one I was buying.  At 4:00pm, they handed me a ticket saying that I was #1 in line.  At 4:25pm, a gentlemen comes into the store and tells those of us who were in line that Target doesn’t actually have their shipment of iPad 2’s in the store, and that we should go somewhere else to buy our iPad 2’s.  I turned to the guy working the electronics desk, and he sheepishly confesses to me that they don’t actually have the shipment yet, but they anticipate that it will arrive at any minute.  At 4:30pm the electronics department gets a call and this same guy tells us that they will not be receiving their shipment by 5:00 – and they’re blaming it on Apple.  Of course…

I was hacked!  I ran out of that store and went to the nearest Wal-Mart I could find.  The manager comes out at Wal-Mart to ask us which iPad 2 we all wanted, and by the time they asked me which one I wanted they were sold out of that model.  I left and drove to the nearest Best Buy.  There was a line – probably 50+ people deep and the guy in front of me purchased the last iPad 2.  So I left and we to the AT&T store – they were sold out.  I went back to Target and now they’re saying they won’t even receive their shipment until Saturday – most likely Monday.  That was it.  Target had messed me over.  By this point the nearest Apple store had already sold out as well.  I was very, VERY upset.

I went home and spent the evening sitting on the couch with Taylor.  She was so sweet.  She kept apologizing to me, and I did everything in my power to not let it ruin our evening together.  Around 8:00pm, just for grins, I called the Best Buy just to ask if by chance they happened to have any iPad 2’s left.  The manager said no, but told me if I put $100 down toward one, when their next shipment came in I would be guaranteed one.  So I hop in the truck and head to Best Buy, only to find out that option wouldn’t be available until Saturday morning.  On my way home I called another Best Buy (again just for grins) to see if they might happen to have any left.  I nearly came out of my seatbelt when I heard the lady on the other end say, “Yes.  Actually we do.”  I asked her if any of them were the 64gig WiFi only in black.  She came back on the line and said, “Yes, we have two.”  I said, “I’ll be RIGHT there!”  I drove straight there, and bought the last 64gig WiFi only iPad 2 in black that they had.  I also bought a smart cover (which is AWESOME by the way).  I then went home and Taylor and I laughed hysterically while we played with the Photo Booth app before heading to bed.  In spite of Target’s deceitful ways, it wound up being a great night.  Thanks Best Buy!  You saved the day.

Target, if you’re reading this post, I want you to know how very frustrated and upset I am at you.   I wanted to spend my money at your store, I really did.  Why were you dishonest to me?  Why did you lead me (and the other people who were waiting to purchase an iPad 2 at your store) to believe that you had your stock when you knew you did not?  Why were you not forthcoming immediately and say, “We don’t have our shipment yet, but we anticipate it will be here any minute” and let me decide if I wanted to chance it or not? I don’t understand that!  I could’ve spent my time in line anywhere else, but I chose your store and you were dishonest to me.  You can guarantee that I’ll never bring my business to your store for any major electroincs purchase in the future.  You messed up, and now you will lose a customer.

Best Buy, if you’re reading this post, I appreciate that you handled the launch with class.  Even the manager of the Best Buy in Mansfield told me that they hadn’t receive as large a shipment as other Best Buys in the area – which lead me to call the other Best Buy.  When it comes to major electronics purchases in the future, you can bet that I’ll be at your store over any other store because I know you’ll treat me right.

Apple, if you’re reading this – yeah, I spent my money on your device.  You probably don’t care how and where I spent my money – but a pre-order option for the iPad 2 would’ve been nice.  Just sayin’…

Ok, I’m done.  I feel better now.  Thanks for reading.

Responses

  1. hahaha
    you are crazy, but i still love you
    glad it all worked out well
    you are right taylor is a sweet, awesome, perfect wife…always remember that!

    • I may be crazy, but I got my iPad!

      And yes, my wife is all that and more! I’ll never forget that!

  2. You know…For waiting 6 months, you could have just tricked yourself and said it game out in April, and iPAD 2s would be all over the shelves.

    • Yeah. But I got one. So, it’s really not a big deal now.

  3. I got my iPad 2 at Target (Orlando) and they had exactly 10 on-hand; five 16 GB Black and five 32 GB White. Got the white one in 5 minutes and and went over to the Apple store to get the cover. As I walked smilingly next to the miles long line with my white iPad in hand, it was clear that my Target gambit had paid off. Similar experience with the iPhone 4 and Best Buy but you do take your chances with the non-Apple retailers. That was the biggest purchase I ever made at Target but where I get it doesn’t matter; I think they should sell them at 7-11 :)

  4. If one store fails, try another. That’s usually the case.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

